Scoop on Hockey: Toronto Six Win The Cup!

By S. Ferguson

The Toronto Six have laid down a path that the Toronto Maple Leafs will hopefully follow by winning the PHF championship with a sudden death overtime victory. 

After enjoying the PWHPA final earlier this month, the PHF was just as exciting and felt a little more familiar with players on teams representing cities.  The one game final for the Isobel Cup was held at the neutral site Mullett Arena which is the current home of the Arizona Coyotes giving neither team a home advantage.

Toronto actually finished second in the standings and played the Minnesota Whitecaps who finished fourth but upset the first place team from Boston on their way to the final.  

Toronto opened the scoring on a pretty play by Michela Cava to set up Dominika Laskova.

But after 3 periods the score was all tied up 3-3 which meant 3 on 3 overtime.  In the extra period Toronto was by far the better team but couldn’t capitalize on their chances until Tereza Vanisova scored the cup winning goal. 

Congratulations Toronto Six!  

Here’s the last time other Toronto teams were champions: 


Toronto Argonauts – Grey Cup


Toronto Raptors – NBA Champions


Toronto Marlies – Calder Cup


Toronto FC – MLS Cup


Toronto Rock – NLL Cup


Toronto Blue Jays – World Series

And of course


Toronto Maple Leafs – Stanley Cup

Your Turn: What do you think? Leave a comment here…